The battle is over...or has just begun.

This forum is for those of you who are in the middle of or have successfuly beat the addiction. Whether your addiction was gaming, smoking, eating, etc. you are welcome to use this forum to help you get through it or share your story of how you got through it!

Moderators: Psykiblue, Tawnee, Neglected

The battle is over...or has just begun.

Postby bloodwrath on Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:56 pm

This is my first time to this website. I have been addicted to WoW for 15 months. Several times my wife and I tried to work through having me balance the game, but I continued to play 30 - 35 hours a week. This was on top of holding a 45 hour a week job and having three beautiful little children.

Well...over the course of this year it has put a horrible strain on my relationship with my wife and my kiddos. The last two weeks got really bad with the stress and the way I was reacting when my wife just wanted a little bit of my time (I would be a real jerk anytime I was interrupted when playing).

Well...on Saturday it reached a climax...and in my frustration I put my fist through one of our walls (I was angry with my own lack of understanding with it all). I reached the bottom. I promptly realized that if I wanted to lose my children and my wife I should keep going down the road I was going. So I booted up my laptop. Logged onto WoW, said goodbye to my guild, and deleted EVERYTHING. I then picked up the phone and made an appointment with a counselor for my wife and I. Honestly...this sent me from Unfriendly rep to Revered immediately with my wife. I had no idea it would have that kind of positive impact.